The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley

TheAngelTreeRating: 1*

Published:  2015 by Pan


Synopsis by Goodreads:

Thirty years have passed since Greta left Marchmont Hall, a grand and beautiful house nestled in the hills of rural Monmouthshire. But when she returns to the Hall for Christmas, at the invitation of her old friend David Marchmont, she has no recollection of her past association with it – the result of a tragic accident that has blanked out more than two decades of her life. Then, during a walk through the wintry landscape, she stumbles across a grave in the woods, and the weathered inscription on the headstone tells her that a little boy is buried here . . .
The poignant discovery strikes a chord in Greta’s mind and soon ignites a quest to rediscover her lost memories. With David’s help, she begins to piece together the fragments of not only her own story, but that of her daughter, Cheska, who was the tragic victim of circumstances beyond her control. And, most definitely, not the angel she appeared to be . . .


Don’t read! Or if you do and have read tell me why and did you enjoyed this??

This was such a HUGE disappointment, I agree, I chose the book because I fell in love with this adorable, beautiful cover and the writer is Lucinda Riley, so blind guess it will be interesting. However, it was my choice at the time because I LOVED the ‘7sisters’ series to explore the writer’s writing style and my conclusion is – I will stick to the series but that’s about it because her standalone’s has been more or less not my favorite read.

So this book is about history repeating again and again, mother, daughter, granddaughter goes through early age birth giving, each of them are facing different circumstances, but the sentences does not go into the depth to build up the good story line. I disliked the dragging plot, it was so boring. I could not connect to any characters. This is about memory loss for over 20 years and living a life as a ghost, listening what people have said, respond to that but having no real your answer to anything, avoiding crowded places and keeping life pretty solitude. This suddenly changes when she is about to spend the Christmas at one of her sincere friends house, her memory suddenly comes back and so does the sadness over the loss of her 3-year-old child, nobody has ever mentioned to her and so with the help of this friend she begins to discover her past.

The story is written in past and present form, flipping stories in present when action takes place…but I found the characters lame, stupid, stupid actions, and when bunch of people act similar going nowhere – what’s the point of dragging and reading all these pages? I did not gave up, as I don’t enjoy to have unfinished books.

Almost all reviews are 4-5 stars, how? HOW? Either because of the writer’s popularity or I did not catch the vibe of the book. I was so excited this month when I got the book via library order but I am so glad I don’t own the copy.

One thought on “The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley

  1. Pingback: July Book Wrap Up | Ilonita's Books, Quilts & notes

Leave a Reply

